Optimizing PC based quad matrix playback

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Richo

With the huge takeup of digitized music storage and distribution there has literally been an explosion in hardware and software for audio over the last decade.

I thought a thread on getting the most from your equipment and maximizing the quad experience would be pretty cool.

I'm pretty new to the quad scene but I've been experimenting !

Please feel free to jump in and offer your own tips / tricks for achieving better separation on playback (I'm sure you guys have heaps).

I guess like alot of folk, I'm using a PC to output stereo files (mp3 / flac) to a 70's matrix decoder. Its a fairly simplistic setup but I've found a few things that helps my old 70's hardware decoder boards perform as well as they possibly can.

Source: I'm using winamp, its stable when you throw multiple tens of thousands of tracks into its playlist (unlike a hell of a lot of others that just lock up).

I've also just started playing with a really cool plugin for winamp called stereotool. Its freeware and I scanned it as virus free, grab it here: http://www.stereotool.com

It has a preset called "increased stereo" that does make a difference. Its a subtle difference but it works on the tracks I've tried so far (about 50). It doesn't do anything weird to tracks that traditionally decode well (A/B'd them) but it does enhance those marginal tracks into decoding for better separation and even gets some small separation happening in tracks that previously wouldn't. Impressive and well worth more time investment to see what it can really do.

I don't use any software Eq, I find a hardware one far better.

Soundcard: use a good soundcard, your signal is only ever going to be as good as your soundcard and its DACS.