Sansui G-8000 (Stereo) Receiver Capacitor replacement.

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RockTheCasbah

Okay, I have heard quite a bit of many people having upgraded their capacitors on their receivers/amplifiers, and I know that the caps on that G-8000 are probably due for replacement soon, so, what exactly do I want to do here? I have a lot of experience with soldering and such, i just do not know which capacitors to replace, and what are good ones to replace them with...Also, what else should I do in breathing new life into an old receiver?

RockTheCasbah said:
Okay, I have heard quite a bit of many people having upgraded their capacitors on their receivers/amplifiers, and I know that the caps on that G-8000 are probably due for replacement soon, so, what exactly do I want to do here? I have a lot of experience with soldering and such, i just do not know which capacitors to replace, and what are good ones to replace them with...Also, what else should I do in breathing new life into an old receiver?

Hi Rock,

Yes you should consider replacing the electrolytic capacitors in your G-8000. There are many different kinds of capacitors.......electrolytic, tantalum, polypropelene, ceramic, etc. etc. But it is only the electrolytics that unfortunately have the shortest "life" of any component used in our cherished equipment. Standard electrolytic caps are rated for 2,000 HOURS of use, or 15 years of "storage life" (ratings courtesy of Nichicon......see www.nichicon.com under technical specifications/application information).