5.1 to quad transcoding

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ola

Hi,

I am a newbie to quad sound, so maybe there is an obvious answer to this:
I recently came across a Marantz 4240; couldn't resist it because of its looks. It sounds great in stereo, but I have no quad recordings (or players, for that matter). Feels like a waste not to use that extra dimension it's capable of delivering.
It would be great to use the device as a home theater amp. To use it for playing four of the 5.1 or 7.1 surround channels, and maybe split the remaining channels between the four I've got available.

* Would it be possible to transcode from e.g. 5.1 to any of the old quad formats? In hardware? In software, e.g. if I use a computer for movie playback?
* Does anyone have any experience from this?

Thanks in advance for any reply.

Just split the center channel from 5.1 equally across the two front channels
and the subwoofer channel across all 4 channels equally.

For 7.1 merge the extra side speakers equally across left-front and left rear for the left side
and right front and right rear for the right side.

But you might as well keep it for its looks if that's what you like and go on eBay
and buy you like a QSC multi channel theatre amp, since most of the problems with
those old receivers besides needing to be re-capped and restored is their notoriously
low wattage which is insufficient for today's modern speaker systems.

Hi,

I am a newbie to quad sound, so maybe there is an obvious answer to this:
I recently came across a Marantz 4240; couldn't resist it because of its looks. It sounds great in stereo, but I have no quad recordings (or players, for that matter). Feels like a waste not to use that extra dimension it's capable of delivering.