What do you think will be the most easily played quadraphonic distribution format moving forward?

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rlhess

I have been digitizing tapes for about two decades and recently have digitized a significant percentage of a Canadian composer's quadraphonic electronic music compositions. We do not see a large market for this music and many of the people interested are not techno-geeks. We are thinking downloads, perhaps via HD Tracks, but I have been unsuccessful in finding definitive information on file format that will make it playable on a wide variety of platforms (both computer based and media player based). The files are four discrete mono files at 192/24.

Your thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks and cheers,

Richard

I would say the most commonly accepted format is 96kHz/24-bit flac files.

A lot of equipment will play 192kHz & 384kHz sample rates at 24-bit but not all will handle that in 4.0/5.1/7.1 etc. What ever you do use, add a silent Centre channel as that makes it the most compatible for surround, some equipment doesn't know how to handle Quad.

I have been digitizing tapes for about two decades and recently have digitized a significant percentage of a Canadian composer's quadraphonic electronic music compositions. We do not see a large market for this music and many of the people interested are not techno-geeks. We are thinking downloads, perhaps via HD Tracks, but I have been unsuccessful in finding definitive information on file format that will make it playable on a wide variety of platforms (both computer based and media player based). The files are four discrete mono files at 192/24.

Thanks and cheers,

Richard
I totally agree with what Duncan said. Can I assume that you’re also a fan of Suzanne Ciani? You should post more often.

I would say the most commonly accepted format is 96kHz/24-bit flac files.