Not streaming - dedicated PC

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I've been using an old HTPC via HDMI for many years now and am very pleased with the results. My main gripe, no SACD support, was settled more recently by the BD player hack. (I don't care about DSD-PCM conversion, but apparently there are ways to avoid that as well if desired.) So now I only need optical drives for ripping; I almost never use them to watch or listen in real time.

I also use Foobar for audio and JRiver for video. I don't care for JRiver's interface - Foobar can be just as ugly and boring as I want it to be :) - but I like the way JRiver just works well for video without a lot of screwing around, even at 4K with the latest version.

Haven't bothered with a remote app for JRiver; I just use a wireless keyboard (Logitech K750). For Foobar I used for quite awhile an Android app called Foobar2000 Controller Pro, but have recently replaced that with another called FoobarCon Pro, which seems somewhat more intuitive to me.
i also use a wireless keyboard and mouse for the time being. Works great as long as I have my AVR remote handy as well for quick volume, etc.

I've moved pretty slow with the music server building project. I skipped the NAS and raid setup. I just installed 16TBs of HDD storage internally in my i7 computer. Quite a simple setup, but effective. The backups are my old external drives.

Yes. I just wanted to make sure I couldn't do this with the Fire Stick before I built the PC. My plasma TV has three fans in it already, so one more shouldn't be a deal breaker.

Oh, didn't realize you have a "plasma" TV.

Be very wary of using a plasma as a computer monitor for your HTPC because burn-in is an issue and programs like Foobar will become burnt'in if playing all night.