Newbie Advice on Quad Reciever and R2R

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dsk3331/disc rider

I’m new to Quadraphonic and seeking advice and recommendations about 4 channel quad receivers. I am purchasing my first 4 channel reel to reel this week. Looking for advice on which 4 channel quad receiver to purchase that is good quality and won’t break the bank.

Well, if you are only going to use a 4 channel reel to reel, you can buy a modern receiver that 5.1 has analog inputs and using audio cables connect the R2R to the FL FR SL SR inputs.

If you are going to expand to Quad LPs then you might want a vintage receiver, however, there is a lot of baggage that comes with a 40 year old piece of electronics gear.

On the other hand, you could get a Surround Master 2 or other external SQ or QS decoder and route the output into a modern 5.1 receiver in the same way. As long as you have a receiver that has discrete mutichannel inputs you can do almost anything quad with the proper external box, because in that case the receiver is basically an amplifier.

I’m new to Quadraphonic and seeking advice and recommendations about 4 channel quad receivers. I am purchasing my first 4 channel reel to reel this week. Looking for advice on which 4 channel quad receiver to purchase that is good quality and won’t break the bank.

Welcome to the forum, keep engaged and asking questions, someone here probably has an answer. Do you currently own any Quad R-R tapes or are you going to record your own material?
Also, breaking the bank is a relative statement, a price range would be helpful.
Have fun and enjoy the adventure!

Thanks for your prompt reply. I guess I need to try and understand what you’ be said here.
Thanks