Help needed: my JVC 4DD-10 model, who knows something about it ? (with inside pics)

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

VFET4ever

Before I would like to ask my questions, I would like to say that I'm new to this very interesting forum. Although I'm into collecting and rebuilding vintage amplifiers for many years (VFETs and the like are my passion), I was never into quadraphonics... until recently. It's like discovering a whole new world, while I wonder how you can miss it out when one is into 70's vintage gear daily... The CD-4 unit below might make me enter the quadraphonic madness, who knows.

Anyway, I was more or less forced to buy this mystery unit (to me) when buying some other gear, it's a JVC 4DD-10. As you can see, it is in an absolute mint condition, looks like to owner used it for a few months and then stored until 2011 somewhere in the attic. I call it myself a mystery unit because really nothing comes up when googling it (and I mean NOTHING for over 20 pages...), not even in this forum !

Yes, a very lot can be found on the sister model 4DD-5, but nothing about this '10' model. Therefore, if there is any place where some folks could perhaps help me out to tell me something about it, then it must be this forum.

My questions:
- is it a rare model ?
- when was it build (before/after/during the '5' model) ?
- was it perhaps built for a specific market only ?
- considering the US/Japanese power plug, perhaps it was bought there and imported by the buyer (I bought it in Holland) ?
- what would be is market value ?

- ok, here it comes: is it better or lesser then the '5' model ?

And the two most important questions:
- can anybody please help to find me a service manual (copy or original)?
- can anybody please help to find me an user manual (copy or original)?