Help to set up Quad systems with QSD-1?

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

convitcon

Dear all quadrophiles

Firstly, I am sorry for my Poor English, I have tried to find informations concerning the setting up a Quad system in this forum but didn't found yet
You are kindly requested to help me, I've got a Sansui QSD-1 from my uncle but I have no experiences with Quad, and there are not any Quad fans in my country - Vietnam. I would be appreciated if you could help to set up a Quad system
Hereunder is my recent system, and if there are something i should get to build Quad, please tell me

Digital: Arcam Transport Delta 170 and Blackbox Dac
DVD: Quinsheng - China (not used for months)
Pre-amp: Yamaha C-2
Power: Yamaha B-3 V-fet
Speakers: Yamaha NS-1000 Monitor
Unused: Arcam DAB DT-81 and Sansui QSD-1

Looking forward to hearing from you soon

Warm Regards,

Convitcon - "Small Duck" in Vietnamese ;)

To begin with, you need four amplifier channels. Two stereo power amps can do the job. You also need four speakers, preferably four that are exactly alike. You can use the output of your preamp into the QSD-1, and feed the four channel outputs from the QSD-1 to the power amps, so that one amp is running your front speakers, and the other is running the back ones. If the power amps have gain controls, use them to balance front to back. If they don't, what comes out of the QSD-1 should be good. Keep the bass and treble controls of your preamp (if it has them) at the flat (middle) position. You can use the volume control on the preamp to adjust the system volume. Set the volume control on the QSD-1 to about 3/4 of the way up and leave it there. This way, if your preamp has a remote control, you can still adjust volume with it.