Is my qrx 8001 defective or not properly connected

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nikosan

Hello I'm a newbie and just found this great forum. Do I have my connections right in having a 2 channel source play in 4 channel mode? I connected 2 pairs of speakers on Speaker A, then my IPOD on Tape 1 on 4channel/2channel inputs at the back, speaker switch at channel A, then pressed the QS synthesizer, tape mon switch to 2ch/4ch, the rear speakers does not play. I followed the manual online and search the forums to no avail. If I connect the IPOD in the 4channel rear input then only the rear speakers work. I just want to have all 4 speakers playing at the same time without each pair connected to speaker A & B. Thanks for your replies

Ok, Nikosan, I think I've figured it out. I had to look at the 8001 on the web, but here's what I think you should do. On the 8001, the 4-channel tape inputs are for discrete sources (Q8, Quad Reel to Reel) and so probably bypass the QS synthesizer. You need to hook your iPod to the 2 channel tape input, that way you can make use of the QS section. Let me know how that works.

I connected it to the 2 channel and it plays on the front speaker but pressing any of the 4 channel features like SQ does not produce rear channel sound. I will try using a Y splitter to feed 2'pairs of RCA to front and rear inputs. The manual says that pressing the SQ mode will at least produce rear channel sound that is why I thought that it was defective. Thank you for checking your unit