Modern Day Quadraphonic Sound??

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Skylineivan

Great Community! I am proud to be here with you all. However, I am trying to understand something and am having a very hard time getting information from anyone or even anything on the internet. I am a music producer. I want to deliver my music in a Quadraphonic format to my listeners. My questions are:

1.) Do any of the smartphones, mp3 players, etc. have the ability to stream or play a multichannel music file? From what I've found, they only deliver Stereo sound but there MUST be a way (plugin, app) that can do this?

2.) What medium do I have to use in order to get the music to my listeners? I understand that CD is not an option so I assume that I could do a Quadraphonic mix on DVD and/or Blu Ray? Is that true and are those my only options?

I would love to be able to stream music in a 4 channel format but keep hitting a brick wall when trying to get ANY info. on how multi channel audio is being used in today's environments.

I appreciate everyone on this page and am looking forward to any insight regarding my questions.

I apologize if they are uneducated, but like I stated, I am a newbie when it comes to producing in 4 channel audio.

Respectfully,
--Ivan

Skylineivan welcome to community and some answers to your questions.

1. yes, if signal has been coded as multi channel stream into acceptable for such devices formats.
2. from vinyl record to a downloadable files and everything in between

how multi channel audio is being used in today's environments

1. from mobile devices through headphones or by sending signal to stand alone surround sound system.
2. from physical medium: LP record, open reel, cassette, Dolby Surround CD, DTS-CD, Audio only DVD, DVD-Audio, Super Audio CD, Blu Ray Audio.
3. from computers through wide variety of different formats of audio files.