New Member: Advice on adding LP and Quad capability to an existing 5.1 system

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mwhealton

Hi all:
I am new here and new to quad, but have an existing (all digital input so far) 2channel + multichannel system. I tend to listen to 2 channel sources in pure stereo pass-thru mode.
My goal is to add both LP and quad capability to the system. I think my focus initially is on the Columbia material and therefore SQ matrix format playback, but would like to find equipment that does not limit my options in the discrete quad LP formats. (That last statement may not be well-formed, since I am new to this world). I am generally looking at new equipment, not vintage pieces unless they are really convincing and necessary.

The existing system has some dated equipment as you can see:
Disc player: Oppo UDP-205
Pre/pro: Lexicon MC-12B with Room EQ V5.25 (running all outputs balanced except subwoofer )
Amplification: Classe CA-2300 (main L/R), Lexicon MX-7 (all other channels except subwoofer)
Speakers: Mains L/R B&W Nautilus 801 c. 1999, Center: B&W Nautilus HTM-1 c. 1999, Sides: B&W in-ceiling c. 2012, Rears: B&W in-wall c. 2012, sub: Vandersteen.

Here are the pieces I think I need to add:
1: Turntable + cartridge that allows both matrix and discrete playback. rough budget - up to around 1,500 USD
2: Phono stage preamp - something appropriate for driving the decoder - < 500 USD
3: Matrix decoder/synth: This one will be the Sonic Master v2, I think. (Discrete format demodulation is something for a later time..)