• QuadraphonicQuad welcomes you and encourages your participation! Treat all members with respect. Please keep all discussions civil, even when you have a strong opinion on a particular topic.

    Do not offer for free, offer for sale, offer for trade, or request copies or files of copyrighted material - no matter how rare or unavailable to the public they might be. We do not condone the illegal sharing of music. There are many places on the internet where you can participate in such transactions, but QuadraphonicQuad is not one of them. We are here to encourage and support new multichannel releases from those companies that still provide them and as such the distribution of illegal copies of recordings is counter-productive to that effort. Any posts of this sort will be deleted without notification.

    Please try to avoid discussions that pit one format against another. Hint for new users: make liberal use of the search facilities here at QuadraphonicQuad. Our message base is an incredibly rich resource of detailed information on virtually all topics pertaining to surround-sound. You will be surprised at what you can find with a little digging!

Oh no - Foobar problems

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

GOS

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
QQ Supporter
Joined
Apr 23, 2013
Messages
13,399
Location
Central Illinois
Tonight, I went to play some tunes via Foobar and I got this dramatic message. No matter what I do, reboot laptop, reboot NAS, reboot WIFI, I still get the error and nothing will play.

I admit, this frightens the hell out of me. What could it be?

Unrecoverable playback error: Unspecified error (0x80004005)
 

GOS

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
QQ Supporter
Joined
Apr 23, 2013
Messages
13,399
Location
Central Illinois
OK, what frightens me even more...is that no one has said a word. That tells me no one has had this issue...and oh man. Could my NAS have failed me? It is still lit up like normal though. Nothing seems different.
 

marpow

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
Joined
Jul 9, 2015
Messages
3,424
Location
San Mateo CA
OK, what frightens me even more...is that no one has said a word. That tells me no one has had this issue...and oh man. Could my NAS have failed me? It is still lit up like normal though. Nothing seems different.
Wish I could help but don't own a foobar, wish I did.
 

GOS

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
QQ Supporter
Joined
Apr 23, 2013
Messages
13,399
Location
Central Illinois
Holy Crap! I got it.....

Well, I don't really understand it...but I had rebooted every single thing...except my AVR. I rebooted AVR and all is OK.
Wow, I'm relieved. I have hundreds of hours dedicated to ripping music to this NAS.....oh boy. Now I can drink wine...relieved.
 

marpow

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
Joined
Jul 9, 2015
Messages
3,424
Location
San Mateo CA
Holy Crap! I got it.....

Well, I don't really understand it...but I had rebooted every single thing...except my AVR. I rebooted AVR and all is OK.
Wow, I'm relieved. I have hundreds of hours dedicated to ripping music to this NAS.....oh boy. Now I can drink wine...relieved.
There are spy's among us. Aliens/Trumps where looking at your machine and they forgot to cover there tracks.
 

DennisMoore Jr.

1K Club - QQ Shooting Star
Joined
Jul 1, 2013
Messages
1,040
Location
SouthEast USA
Holy Crap! I got it.....

Well, I don't really understand it...but I had rebooted every single thing...except my AVR. I rebooted AVR and all is OK.
Wow, I'm relieved. I have hundreds of hours dedicated to ripping music to this NAS.....oh boy. Now I can drink wine...relieved.
Sorry, I'm a bit late here but I'm glad you corrected the problem.

Excellent lesson for all of us HTPC people. HDMI is a digital protocol with lots of "handshaking", which is basically a lot of talking back and forth from device to device. Are you OK? , Yes, I'm OK! Are you still OK? Kinda like that..

The application Foobar has a direct connection with the receiver's HDMI port, so you can reboot the PC one hundred times and reinstall software all day, but the HDMI protocol stack on the AVR will stay locked up until it is rebooted. Yes, the Audio receiver is actually acting as a computer in this case and can get "stuck" digitally, requiring a reboot to clear the protocol stack(the errors).

So don't forget to reboot the audio receiver in times of HTPC trouble. :smokin
 

Snood

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 8, 2013
Messages
3,560
Location
Snoodville
Hey GOS - I know the NAS is redundant and stuff............how much info gigs wise is on it?

Shit man - 4 gig hard drives are under 100 bux nowadays 8 gigs a bit more..........might be koo to back up the NAS lol - I doubt the NAS was the prob, but prob something interacting with the Operating Sytem being WIndows whatever.........I would suggest..........make sure you turn off your laptop before turning off you audio video system. It's kind of like plugging in externals - ya don;t want to unplug them before safely ejecting them form the operating system or just turning off your computer.

but depending on what operating system u have...........google the error message you will be surprised what you find - it is a frustrating and common error in windows 7...........not all answers are correct nor germane to your problem/operating system, but ya might find something.

If ya got it fixed - AWESOME

the way ya fixed it makes me believe that ya might have powered something off before shutting down correctly:mad:@:
 

GOS

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
QQ Supporter
Joined
Apr 23, 2013
Messages
13,399
Location
Central Illinois
I have 8tb total....but I haven't educated myself on how to parse the music to 4tb and use the other 4 as a backup. I know, I know...I need to learn.
 

Snood

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 8, 2013
Messages
3,560
Location
Snoodville
I have 8tb total....but I haven't educated myself on how to parse the music to 4tb and use the other 4 as a backup. I know, I know...I need to learn.
External 8 tb http://www.bestbuy.com/site/searchpage.jsp?st=8+tb+external&_dyncharset=UTF-8&id=pcat17071&type=page&sc=Global&cp=1&nrp=&sp=&qp=&list=n&af=true&iht=y&usc=All+Categories&ks=960&keys=keys

Drag and drop buddy - it will take a long time but...........just back up ur NAS which is kind of a back up.........on a one External 8 TB - granted we being paranoid, but like Skherbeck says :smokin

Better prices on Amazon probably but...........Snood personal faves are Western Digital
 

skherbeck

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
QQ Supporter
Joined
Apr 15, 2015
Messages
3,003
Location
SoCal, USA
OK - I'm going to have to ask you how to do backups.....
Well, I'm sure there are plenty of ways to do it RIGHT... but here's my way:

I rip and mix everything on my laptop and save it on the external drive. Then every few weeks when I feel like wasting time, I disconnect the drive and copy
the newly added stuff to my other 2 external drives.

(By the way, I don't have a NAS; just 3 different external hard drives, 8TB each, 1 connected to each of 2 computers, the last connected to my OPPO)

"NAS" just seems like another scary technological thingy I'm not ready to delve into yet.
 

audioguy

Active Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2015
Messages
65
Sorry, I'm a bit late here but I'm glad you corrected the problem.

Excellent lesson for all of us HTPC people. HDMI is a digital protocol with lots of "handshaking", which is basically a lot of talking back and forth from device to device. Are you OK? , Yes, I'm OK! Are you still OK? Kinda like that..
Amen. And this is exactly why I hate HDMI. Sometimes my Foobar completely locks up when switching from different types of files (e.g. DSD to FLAC). I think USB is a much better option than HDMI. But most USB DACs don't support multichannel over USB (like the Oppo 105/205). I just spent a fortune on an Exasound DAC which can do multichannel over USB. Hopefully my HDMI handshake issues are over for good. Will hopefully receive my Exasound in the near future and will report back.
 

audioguy

Active Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2015
Messages
65
OK - I'm going to have to ask you how to do backups.....
Here is how I do it:

I have all my music on a NAS that has dual 6TB drives for a total of 12TB. I purchased a couple of external USB drives to back up my NAS. Every couple of weeks, I connect the external drives and "synch" them to the NAS. This is very simply done using a free program from Microsoft called SyncToy. SyncToy will keep track of what files have changed on my NAS and only copy those to the back-up everytime I run the program. If I had deleted files from my NAS, then Synctoy will also delete those files from my external drives. It keeps track of what is new, what has changed, and what has been removed. As the name suggests, it synchronizes files from two different drives.

Here is the place to download SyncToy for free:

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=15155
 

quicksrt

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
Since 2002/2003
Joined
Jul 5, 2002
Messages
2,313
Location
Surf City, CA
Here is how I do it:

I have all my music on a NAS that has dual 6TB drives for a total of 12TB. I purchased a couple of external USB drives to back up my NAS. Every couple of weeks, I connect the external drives and "synch" them to the NAS. This is very simply done using a free program from Microsoft called SyncToy. SyncToy will keep track of what files have changed on my NAS and only copy those to the back-up everytime I run the program. If I had deleted files from my NAS, then Synctoy will also delete those files from my external drives. It keeps track of what is new, what has changed, and what has been removed. As the name suggests, it synchronizes files from two different drives.

Here is the place to download SyncToy for free:

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=15155
I'm terrified of programs that claim to mirror drives and fix replace and delete content. I could never use it all the time and sleep well. I don't even trust straight back ups - transfer of files. A checksum type of system is the best bet for paranoid me.
 

winopener

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
Since 2002/2003
Joined
Mar 2, 2002
Messages
3,716
Tonight, I went to play some tunes via Foobar and I got this dramatic message. No matter what I do, reboot laptop, reboot NAS, reboot WIFI, I still get the error and nothing will play.

I admit, this frightens the hell out of me. What could it be?

Unrecoverable playback error: Unspecified error (0x80004005)
First of all, not everyone here is in your time zone, so don't panic if in an hour you haven't got a reply yet. :)

Second, i have seen this error on one of my machine and it is related to the usb dac connected between pc and amplifier. Powering off Foobar, unplugging the usb dac, repluggin' it and foobar restart solves the problem. Or a power cycle off/on.

So, it seems your sound device wasn't seen it anymore in foobar. Reboot, take it easy and DO A BACKUP OF THE NAS. This will be a really SERIOUS problem if something goes south.
 

Simon A

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
Joined
Jun 13, 2015
Messages
2,407
Here is how I do it:

I have all my music on a NAS that has dual 6TB drives for a total of 12TB. I purchased a couple of external USB drives to back up my NAS. Every couple of weeks, I connect the external drives and "synch" them to the NAS. This is very simply done using a free program from Microsoft called SyncToy. SyncToy will keep track of what files have changed on my NAS and only copy those to the back-up everytime I run the program. If I had deleted files from my NAS, then Synctoy will also delete those files from my external drives. It keeps track of what is new, what has changed, and what has been removed. As the name suggests, it synchronizes files from two different drives.

Here is the place to download SyncToy for free:

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=15155
There two versions available. Which one should I download?


 

GOS

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
QQ Supporter
Joined
Apr 23, 2013
Messages
13,399
Location
Central Illinois
Here is how I do it:

I have all my music on a NAS that has dual 6TB drives for a total of 12TB. I purchased a couple of external USB drives to back up my NAS. Every couple of weeks, I connect the external drives and "synch" them to the NAS. This is very simply done using a free program from Microsoft called SyncToy. SyncToy will keep track of what files have changed on my NAS and only copy those to the back-up everytime I run the program. If I had deleted files from my NAS, then Synctoy will also delete those files from my external drives. It keeps track of what is new, what has changed, and what has been removed. As the name suggests, it synchronizes files from two different drives.

Here is the place to download SyncToy for free:

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=15155
So, you obviously had to buy an external drive large enough to handle the initial backup (assuming you had a few TB of data to backup from the NAS)
Right?
 
2
Top