QRX-9001, how does it work?

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
V

Veech

Hi all,

I'm a newbie here, been browsing around a bit though. I just got my Sansui QRX-9001 out of the shop after being tuned and tweaked, took it home and it's awesome! Jeez, 4x60RMS is underrated, I think.

The main reason I got the thing, though, was to play regular stereo CDs through it and press some magic button and be awed by the supposedly great job it does decoding the stereo signal into an ersatz quadrophonic signal. I know it only works on some recordings and is based a lot on the original mix, so I wasn't expecting a lot but even then what I've tried so far is pretty underwhelming. Perhaps I'm doing it wrong?

I started with McCartney's album Ram as I understand it's supposed to quad out nicely. I haven't hooked up speakers yet, but I was monitoring the rear output via headphones. I heard a couple of interesting things, but again it didn't sound greatly different from what the front stereo signal was; there was some bass roll-off, it sounded compressed, and a bit "processed" but not what I would consider something that knocked my sox off.

Anyway, could someone help me out with the best settings to put this thing on? I'm using the QS Synthesizer Surround button, is that the best one to use for faux quad?

Don't get me wrong, I've put over $600 into this thing and I really want it to work, but am I expecting too much? Is there a way to goose the fake quad effect?

thanks all,

Veech

SOunds like you are doing everything correctly. Problem is that with quad syth from non-encoded sources, you really need the interplay between the front and rears to get the best effect. If you listen to only the rears, you miss any delay, echo, or timing variances that you would percieve if you had all fours on.

You really need to try a well-encoded QS LP. These are not too easy to find.