Simple 5.1 DAW in 2023 for untrained idiot?

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

somethingcleveridunno

Steven Wilson 5.1 mix of "Plastic Love" when?
QQ Supporter
If I've got no experience working in DAWs, just doing basic cleanup/mixing in Audacity/Adobe Premiere, and having worked with a physical mixing board quite a lot some 20 years ago in college... what Windows program would any of you recommend for me to play around making surround mixes from stems in (current year)?

If I've got no experience working in DAWs, just doing basic cleanup/mixing in Audacity/Adobe Premiere, and having worked with a physical mixing board quite a lot some 20 years ago in college... what Windows program would any of you recommend for me to play around making surround mixes from stems in (current year)?
Reaper. But it's got a higher learning curve.

If you've got Adobe Suite try using Audition first.

Adobe Audition 3 and earlier versions have the nice surround window to mix very easy. But, if I’m remembering right, they removed this with version 4, along with the center extraction option, not allowing to do Quad decoding with the scripts. Not sure what AA looks like now.

Adobe Audition 3 and earlier versions have the nice surround window to mix very easy. But, if I’m remembering right, they removed this with version 4, along with the center extraction option, not allowing to do Quad decoding with the scripts. Not sure what AA looks like now.
Modern AA works fine for surround.

The easiest to learn, for a newbie, is probably Apple Logic Pro X. It's only $200 for a perpetual license, which is a screaming deal for a full-featured DAW, especially one as jam-packed with built-in content as Logic. It includes support for up to 7.2.4, if I'm not mistaken, and maybe beyond.

Of course, it's only for macOS, so it won't work for you if you're on Windows or Linux.