Thanks Thanks:  13
Likes Likes:  21
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 77

Thread: Involve encoder?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    oklahoma city
    Posts
    178
    Points
    12,539
    Level
    73
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 311
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Involve encoder?

    Here's a question for Chucky:

    I really love my new SM decoder, and now I wonder: Will you ever produce an Involve 5.1-to-2 channel encoder for sale to us QQ members to play with?

    I want one.

    John

  2. #2
    1K Club - QQ Shooting Star Q8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,748
    Points
    39,910
    Level
    100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    Created Album picturesSocialOverdriveCreated Blog entryTagger First Class
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Involve encoder?

    I would be interested in this as well. probably moreso for encoding 4.0. I have some future plans which include being able to encode QS or SQ on the fly.

  3. #3
    700 Club - QQ All Star chucky3042's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    717
    Points
    36,340
    Level
    100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassVeteran25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    User with most referrers
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Involve encoder?

    I thought you guys would never ask!

    Just so happens 2 qq forum members have a prototype version, Bob Romano and Rustyandi (Ron). We are about to produce the first batch of encoders BUT the first lot will be released in a stick on relabeled version of the decoder plastic box. Final encoder box will be metal (I finally get my way).

    IMPORTANT NOTE
    We will allow all owners of the surround master encoder to release music/ other content in the INVOLVE format with NO LICENSE FEE PAYABLE. The only catch is that all material released in INVOLVE format must have our INVOLVE logo on it.

    We really want to encourage free usage of the format.

    Please note the encoder is switchable between INVOLVE / QS encode. Please refer to previously documented test results published in this forum.

    Price ----for the proto plastic box unit $495.
    ----for the final metal cased unit estimate $695

    I know the price is higher than the decoder but the manufacture quantities are considerably lower. On the up side NO LICENSE FEES!!!!!!!
    The will be available is say 1 month.

    Thanks to jsrstereo for starting this thread.

    Regards

    Chucky

  4. Likes Q8 liked this post
  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    oklahoma city
    Posts
    178
    Points
    12,539
    Level
    73
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 311
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Involve encoder?

    Chucky:

    Here's hoping that you can soon give us a look at the encoder's user manual.

    John

  6. #5
    1K Club - QQ Shooting Star Q8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,748
    Points
    39,910
    Level
    100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    Created Album picturesSocialOverdriveCreated Blog entryTagger First Class
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Involve encoder?

    Also, I must ask. Will there be a computer software Encoder?

  7. #6
    700 Club - QQ All Star chucky3042's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    717
    Points
    36,340
    Level
    100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassVeteran25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    User with most referrers
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Involve encoder?

    Hi Q8

    Not for a while as it is tricky to program the Hilbert transforms (we need more brain power)

    Regards

    chucky

  8. Thanks Q8 thanked for this post
  9. #7
    700 Club - QQ All Star chucky3042's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    717
    Points
    36,340
    Level
    100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassVeteran25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    User with most referrers
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Involve encoder?

    Hello All

    Just an update. Work has started on a "pro" version of the encoder. We have made up a bunch of encoder boards but we are reserving them for the final completed unit.

    I suppose the big news is we have decided to make this encoder to full professional specifications with the following broad features (all subject to change upon review and comments from QQ members)

    1 Metal rack mount enclosure, (non rack domestic case also option)
    2 Balanced/ isolated XLR inputs/ outputs
    3 RCA inputs/ outputs
    4 Full VU metering of all channels – switchable input/ output
    5 Level presets
    6 Encode options INVOLVE/ QS / SQ
    7 Decode options INVOLVE/ INVOLVE SQ
    8 Option for instant encode/ decode so that discrete recordings can be “remastered" in INVOLVE (we claim the surround sounds better after INVOLVE processing revealing hidden details)
    9 Output level adjusts on all channels.

    At this stage HDMI is still in the too hard bin as it also requires a $10,000 license fee and we are pushed to the limit at the moment! In addition it will delay the completion of the unit significantly. Any suggestions?

    The down side is that the unit will have a much higher price tag. Recording studios and owners of the encoder/ decoder unit are issued will a free license to record in INVOLVE format with the only condition that they must display out logo on the recording. Please remember a surround recording encoded in INVOLVE will sound exactly like stereo when played back on stereo equipment, but full surround when played with the INVOLVE decoder.

    I am hoping for initial prototypes in July and I welcome your views and ideas.

    Regards

    Chucky

  10. #8
    700 Club - QQ All Star chucky3042's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    717
    Points
    36,340
    Level
    100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassVeteran25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    User with most referrers
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Involve encoder?

    Me Again

    Forgot to mention the unit will incorporate a full pre amplifier with provision for 3 auxiliary inputs and Bluray.

    Regards

    chucky

  11. #9
    700 Club - QQ All Star chucky3042's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    717
    Points
    36,340
    Level
    100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassVeteran25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    User with most referrers
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Involve encoder?

    Hi All
    Its been slow progress but good things come to those who wait. We will release "shortly" two versions of the studio Encoder/ decoder. The first one is the one just intended for the recording studio - with balanced XLR inputs/ outputs. The second is a top end consumer model that will also include a MM and MC phono pre amp, Involve QS/ Involve SQ, encode and decode, remote controller.

    I have attached a recent mechanical layout of the front/ rear of the box - please note the big knob is multifunctioned allowing the user to control volume, bass, treble, balance, aux 1, 2, 3, 4 all on the one knob.

    Patience..........

    Regards

    Chucky
    Attached Images Attached Images

  12. Thanks Q8, Robert van Diggele thanked for this post
    Likes Q8, alaric smith liked this post
  13. #10
    1K Club - QQ Shooting Star Q8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,748
    Points
    39,910
    Level
    100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    Created Album picturesSocialOverdriveCreated Blog entryTagger First Class
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Involve encoder?

    Those sound sexy. Maybe I should get a second job.

  14. #11
    1K Club - QQ Shooting Star Robert van Diggele's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Woerden, The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,594
    Points
    36,034
    Level
    100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    VeteranCreated Album picturesTagger First ClassSocial25000 Experience Points
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Involve encoder?

    Hi Chucky, will the consumer version also have a by pass mode, in case one wants to listen to the unaltered stereo or 5.1 mix?

  15. #12
    organ of Corti junkie kap'n krunch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Some country where you can't criticize the govt.
    Posts
    4,572
    Points
    67,465
    Level
    100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 93.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Blog entryOverdrive50000 Experience Points
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Involve encoder?

    Just as a bystander...is Oxford Dickie involved on this?

    To me he has the widest knowledge regarding SQ... his script is the best, hands down...
    Avatar: a Goddess...Capucine -...The Ice Queen
    -------------------------------------
    "LIFE is NOT in Stereo , it's in SURROUND, so why limit your music to stereo...? By that same train of thought we should've stayed in MONO..." -Me

  16. #13
    700 Club - QQ All Star chucky3042's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    717
    Points
    36,340
    Level
    100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassVeteran25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    User with most referrers
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Involve encoder?

    Hi Robert

    Yes it does have a pass mode AND a separate mode that encodes and then decodes the 5.1 - this allows the user to compare in real time the original discrete 5.1 to the encode/ decode version. Our studies have shown a slight preference to the encode / decode version - see attached report.

    Regards

    Chucky

    Quote Originally Posted by Robert van Diggele View Post
    Hi Chucky, will the consumer version also have a by pass mode, in case one wants to listen to the unaltered stereo or 5.1 mix?
    Attached Files Attached Files

  17. #14
    700 Club - QQ All Star chucky3042's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    717
    Points
    36,340
    Level
    100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassVeteran25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    User with most referrers
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Involve encoder?

    Hi kap'n krunch

    I have had some helpful email correspondence with Oxforddickie but he is in no way associated with our company. Unfortunately I have not had the pleasure of listening to his decode files.

    Regards

    Chucky

    Quote Originally Posted by kap'n krunch View Post
    Just as a bystander...is Oxford Dickie involved on this?

    To me he has the widest knowledge regarding SQ... his script is the best, hands down...

  18. #15
    1K Club - QQ Shooting Star Robert van Diggele's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Woerden, The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,594
    Points
    36,034
    Level
    100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    VeteranCreated Album picturesTagger First ClassSocial25000 Experience Points
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Involve encoder?

    Quote Originally Posted by chucky3042 View Post
    Hi Robert

    Yes it does have a pass mode AND a separate mode that encodes and then decodes the 5.1 - this allows the user to compare in real time the original discrete 5.1 to the encode/ decode version. Our studies have shown a slight preference to the encode / decode version - see attached report.

    Regards

    Chucky
    Hi Chucky,

    Thank you for the reply, sounds very interesting.

  19. #16
    1K Club - QQ Shooting Star Robert van Diggele's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Woerden, The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,594
    Points
    36,034
    Level
    100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    VeteranCreated Album picturesTagger First ClassSocial25000 Experience Points
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Involve encoder?

    Quote Originally Posted by chucky3042 View Post
    Hi Robert

    Yes it does have a pass mode AND a separate mode that encodes and then decodes the 5.1 - this allows the user to compare in real time the original discrete 5.1 to the encode/ decode version. Our studies have shown a slight preference to the encode / decode version - see attached report.

    Regards

    Chucky
    Hi Chucky, two additional questions. Is the by pass fully analog, or does it only passes by the Involve part and still does an a/d and d/a conversion? It may be a strange question, but sometimes I see manufacturers mentioning analog by pass in their specs, so I assume that a digital by pass exists as well? Or perhaps it is only marketing speak.

    You also mention that the new unit will have a much higher price tag. Which range are we talking about, 1,5 or 2 times the $695 that you mentioned earlier, or is it too soon to say anything about this?

    Thanks again for your reply.

  20. #17
    700 Club - QQ All Star chucky3042's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    717
    Points
    36,340
    Level
    100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassVeteran25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    User with most referrers
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Involve encoder?

    Hi Robert

    By the way I am a fellow Dutchman (van Dongen).

    The 5.1 bypass mode is fully analogue - in fact direct connect. I am also not sure why anyone would do a a/d then d/a.

    The price tag will be closer to $2k as it includes encode/ decode/ full pre amp including MM and MC phono with remote control. The basic Surround Master is still the cheapest option - with no loss in performance if you already have facilities to control level etc.

    Please note the BASIC encoder is already available in the existing simple plastic box for $650 ($600 to QQ members) this includes a full license to record for distribution music encoded in INVOLVE stereo compatible format. It encodes in QS or the Intelligent INVOLVE formats.

    Regards

    Chucky

  21. Thanks Q8 thanked for this post
  22. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    oklahoma city
    Posts
    178
    Points
    12,539
    Level
    73
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 311
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Involve encoder?

    Please note the BASIC encoder is already available in the existing simple plastic box for $650 ($600 to QQ members) this includes a full license to record for distribution music encoded in INVOLVE stereo compatible format. It encodes in QS or the Intelligent INVOLVE formats.

    Regards

    Chucky

    ---------------------

    Hi Chucky: Glad to know the encoder is now available. If possible, please post the owner manual, or provide link. Do you have any special ordering instructions?

    Thanks from John R

  23. #19
    1K Club - QQ Shooting Star Robert van Diggele's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Woerden, The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,594
    Points
    36,034
    Level
    100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    VeteranCreated Album picturesTagger First ClassSocial25000 Experience Points
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Involve encoder?

    Quote Originally Posted by chucky3042 View Post
    Hi Robert

    By the way I am a fellow Dutchman (van Dongen).

    The 5.1 bypass mode is fully analogue - in fact direct connect. I am also not sure why anyone would do a a/d then d/a.

    The price tag will be closer to $2k as it includes encode/ decode/ full pre amp including MM and MC phono with remote control. The basic Surround Master is still the cheapest option - with no loss in performance if you already have facilities to control level etc.

    Please note the BASIC encoder is already available in the existing simple plastic box for $650 ($600 to QQ members) this includes a full license to record for distribution music encoded in INVOLVE stereo compatible format. It encodes in QS or the Intelligent INVOLVE formats.

    Regards

    Chucky
    Hi Chucky,

    Hartelijke groeten vanuit Nederland

    Thanks for the reply. I will see who things turn out with the different units before I make a decision. It turns out my amps have a double set of inputs, at least on the stereo amp, so perhaps the Surround Master might be the best option after all. I only have to switch the cables on my 3 channel amp.

    I should have checked this first

  24. #20
    700 Club - QQ All Star chucky3042's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    717
    Points
    36,340
    Level
    100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassVeteran25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    User with most referrers
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Involve encoder?

    Hi Robert

    Ik wou dat ik kon spreken beter Nederlands, toen ik vijf jaar oud was ik koud spreek vloeiend Nederlands, ik worstel nu. Graag tot ziens in mijn eigen land op een dag.

    No hurry on the decision!

    Regards

    chucky

    Quote Originally Posted by Robert van Diggele View Post
    Hi Chucky,

    Hartelijke groeten vanuit Nederland

    Thanks for the reply. I will see who things turn out with the different units before I make a decision. It turns out my amps have a double set of inputs, at least on the stereo amp, so perhaps the Surround Master might be the best option after all. I only have to switch the cables on my 3 channel amp.

    I should have checked this first

  25. Thanks Robert van Diggele thanked for this post
  26. #21
    1K Club - QQ Shooting Star Robert van Diggele's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Woerden, The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,594
    Points
    36,034
    Level
    100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    VeteranCreated Album picturesTagger First ClassSocial25000 Experience Points
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Involve encoder?

    Quote Originally Posted by chucky3042 View Post
    Hi Robert

    Ik wou dat ik kon spreken beter Nederlands, toen ik vijf jaar oud was ik koud spreek vloeiend Nederlands, ik worstel nu. Graag tot ziens in mijn eigen land op een dag.

    No hurry on the decision!

    Regards

    chucky
    Thanks Chucky! ( and writing Dutch is still going well)

  27. #22
    1K Club - QQ Shooting Star Q8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,748
    Points
    39,910
    Level
    100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    Created Album picturesSocialOverdriveCreated Blog entryTagger First Class
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Involve encoder?

    Gelieve directe mij naar de dichtstbijzijnde coffeeshop

  28. Likes Robert van Diggele liked this post
  29. #23
    700 Club - QQ All Star
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    736
    Points
    7,619
    Level
    58
    Level completed: 35%, Points required for next Level: 131
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Involve encoder?

    Just walk a block or two, you'll find one!

  30. Likes Q8, Robert van Diggele liked this post
  31. #24
    1K Club - QQ Shooting Star Robert van Diggele's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Woerden, The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,594
    Points
    36,034
    Level
    100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    VeteranCreated Album picturesTagger First ClassSocial25000 Experience Points
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Involve encoder?

    We have more than just coffeeshops in NL
    Attached Images Attached Images

  32. Likes Q8, LizardKing, DennisMabry, quadsearcher liked this post
  33. #25
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    oklahoma city
    Posts
    178
    Points
    12,539
    Level
    73
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 311
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Involve encoder?

    Quote Originally Posted by jsrstereo View Post
    Please note the BASIC encoder is already available in the existing simple plastic box for $650 ($600 to QQ members) this includes a full license to record for distribution music encoded in INVOLVE stereo compatible format. It encodes in QS or the Intelligent INVOLVE formats.

    Regards

    Chucky

    ---------------------

    Hi Chucky: Glad to know the encoder is now available. If possible, please post the owner manual, or provide link. Do you have any special ordering instructions?

    Thanks from John R
    Chucky: What's your current info regarding availability of the Involve Encoder? How might it be ordered?

    thanks from John R

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •