Joe Farrell - Penny Arcade LP - stealth SQ?

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hi all!
I have a CTI release from saxophonist Joe Farrell called "Penny Arcade". I was playing it the other day and took notice of some odd frequency shifts in the mix. Nothing on the cover or label indicated the LP as being a Quad mix, but when I looked at the deadwax I noticed an "SQ" written on each side. So I decided to run it through Adobe Audition down to DTS and it seems to decode pretty well! Not a revolutionary mix, but definitely some stuff going on in each channel independent of the others. I'm relatively new to decoding and quad in general. Just wondering if anybody else noticed this. It's a great album any way you slice it. And I know CTI did quite a few other LPs in SQ - Don Sebesky's Giant Box is next on my list for conversion and that came out about the same time as Joe Farrell's album (though Giant Box did indicate the mix being quad on the label and cover too). Cheers!
---------- Chris

It's the last CTI SQ album, where the SQ master was used (probably) only for the WLP and the first run.

Wow! Cool. Thanks winopener! Maybe since it was the last SQ LP, CTI decided not to advertise too much about it being a quad release. Now I'm on the lookout for more quad CTI discs. Knowing which was the last one will help that process. A bit of a shame they gave up on quad so early, but CTI was on the way out as a company anyway by the mid-70's. Are there any other noteworthy quad titles from CTI that I should look out for?
--------- Chris

This weekend at the San Diego record show, I did find another record with SQ etched in the runout area.
This one is Esther Phillips - Black-Eyed Blues - Kudu KU-14
runout area etchings Side A - RVG SQ 98774 A-2 Side 2 RVG SQ 98774 B-2
As with the Joe Farrel record the Q letter looks like they tried to scratch it out