Best Quad Reel-to-Reel Deck?

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JediJoker

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
What is the ne plus ultra of quad reel-to-reel decks? What are the runner-ups?

I'm looking to expand my collection into quad reels, and I want to put my best foot forward when it comes to playback. I'd love to also be able to use the deck as a 4-track recorder in my home studio for those clients looking to get that authentic tape sound. Ideally, that means 10.5" reel compatibility plus a 15 IPS (and maybe even 30 IPS?) speed option, as well as 7.5 IPS for commercial quad reels, with 3.75 IPS being least important. Unless, that is, there are desirable 3.75 IPS quad reels out there that I'm unaware of? I'm new to reels, so please feel free to educate me!

Last edited:
Also, do most commercial quad reels use Dolby NR? I suppose it would be nice to have that built in to the deck. External quad units are rare as hen's teeth, and I'd rather not have to use two stereo units.

Most do not, later releases do. My collection is about 30% Dolby. The nice thing about Dolby B is that the tapes sound fine without decoding.

I don't know if any quad reel decks had Dolby included. I own an Akai 630DSS (Quad) deck as well as its sister model 630DB (stereo with Dolby). It would have been cool if they had made a 630DSSDB!

I use the Teac AN-300 for Dolby decoding. Its in a huge case with huge meters, very cool for an equipment junkie! Not cool if you are trying to save space.

https://www.hifiengine.com/manual_library/teac/an-300.shtml

Last edited: