New user

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

trondis23

Hi!

I am a new user from Norway. I have been using surround for about 15 years. I am not an audiophile and on a budget, but I love the experience of surround.

When I upgraded to surround I bought a Denon receiver and a Yamaha combined SACD/DVD-A player, both secondhand, plus new (Dali) center and surround speakers. I already had decent, big front speakers (also Dali). My setup is 5.0, so no subwoofer. I am not sure if I need one since my front speakers have big bass elements. I am not sure if I want a sub either. My son has subwoofers in his room and in his car, and I think it sounds horrible. It is also very annoying for the rest of the family and people passing by his room or car. I added a Blu-ray player when some albums were sold only on Blu-ray. I have ripped all of my CD's, most of the LPs, and all my surround albums, except the unrippable SACDs. The files are on a small harddisk connected to my router. I play back the stereo albums from a microcomputer (Raspberry Pi) with Minimserver and an Openhome player controlled by BubbleUPnP, and the surround albums from another microcomputer (currently Pine 64) with Kodi.