Problems with Blu-ray 2.0 DTS-HD

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cornwall198

QQ Supporter
I am still relatively new to this (brilliant!) game, and wonder can anyone help me with this one. I have been purchasing some of the Blu-ray Pure Audio titles (Beck Sea Changes, Rolling Stones GRR, Karajan Beethoven 9, etc.) I have an Oppo 93, going through a Marantz SR7007, to a B&W CM9 speaker set up.

When I select PCM and the Dolby TrueHD audio options, no problems. BUT when I try the 2.0 DTS-HD Master Audio 24 Bit/96Khz, I get no sound and then what sounds like awful static. From all the Blu-ray Pure Audio discs.

I have no problems playing Blu-ray movies, SACDs, DVD-As, CDs, etc. Any advice or input, very welcome. I'll certainly appreciate the help. THANKS!

Are you using HDMI or 7.1 analogue?

Are you bitstreaming the codecs (Dolby/Dolby True HD, DTS/DTS-HD MA) to your receiver as is,
or sending already converted by the Oppo into LPCM?

Are you using HDMI or 7.1 analogue?

Are you bitstreaming the codecs (Dolby/Dolby True HD, DTS/DTS-HD MA) to your receiver as is,
or sending already converted by the Oppo into LPCM?

Appreciate the speedy replies! Thanks... I am using HDMI. Not quite sure I know enough to answer the second question. I pop the blu-ray disc in, and then on the TV Screen, select the audio from the menu. So, when I select the LPCM it plays fine. When I select DTS-HD MA = static. BUT only these Universal discs. NOT when I select DTS-HD MA on e.g. blu-rays by Clapton (Give me strength) or Yes (Close to the edge).

Go into the Setup Menu on your Oppo.

Under Audio Format Setup, go to HDMI Audio and select "Bitstream".

This means the Marantz is handling the D/A conversion of the DTS HD-MA.