Neil Young Announcement - Blu-Ray is the way

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I'm a layman in this field but looking at Nyquist's formula I still find some questionmarks. Is it really that extendable beyond a perfect signal where the components have different frequencies but the same amplitude and phase? The latter two are actually not present at all in the theorem. So from a cientific point of view it is really nothing more than a simplification when it comes to representing real life music. Correct me if I'm wrong but I have never seen any proof that Nyquist holds when taking into account amplitude and phase. I'm not saying it doesn`t. But there seems to be a couple of big Q.E.D.s missing before assuming that a CD can store whatever a human ear can perceive.

Regarding the first part of the N.Y. archives, to me it seems to be one of those editions where one skips through two thirds of the tracks. I might get it anyway, or even more likely the next part, because I just learned how to rip music from Blu-ray to DVD-Audio. It will be perfect o compile my own "greatest hits". A little like "Decade", which I already have in vinyl and CD already, but now in hi-rez :D

I'm a layman in this field but looking at Nyquist's formula I still find some questionmarks. Is it really that extendable beyond a perfect signal where the components have different frequencies but the same amplitude and phase? The latter two are actually not present at all in the theorem.

The fact is, if Shannon-Nyquist still had such a 'question mark', telecommunications today wouldn't work.