Rolling Stones' "40 Licks" Premieres on Dolby Atmos

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Screenshot_2023-07-31-22-47-41-17_40deb401b9ffe8e1df2f1cc5ba480b12.jpg

-- Niko Bolas, producer/mixer
https://www.soundonsound.com/music-business/atmos-village

I believe getting the whole article is helpful to see where "He (Niko)" is coming from in all of this. Personally I feel an album like Sticky Fingers could be mixed to be very discrete and immersive if done by someone else that really gets it... (Steven Wilson) perhaps :)
For the most part the Rolling Stones multichannel mixes have been weak shit IMO; of course I'm no professional mix engineer either, just a music lover.

Niko begins by saying:

ā€œI spend quite a lot of time referencing binaural both in headphones and outā€ says producer/mixer Niko Bolas. ā€œIā€™m very much a ā€˜lowest common denominatorā€™ person. I have my Auratones connected to the binaural outputs because when a punter hits Play on his phone, he just wants to hear the title. Realising that itā€™s spatial is an afterthought. So, if you donā€™t mix for that person, theyā€™re going to hear something where the groove isnā€™t there if you didnā€™t balance the bottomā€‘end correctly.