Technics CD-4 Cartridges with no audio output

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

Circular Vibes

1K Club - QQ Shooting Star
Since 2002/2003
Joined
Mar 12, 2003
Messages
1,842
Location
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
I would look here, Transformers for what you need in canada if you go the route of installing inside the receiver.

If you go the outboard step down route, I have bought and been happy with these guys. Voltage Converters .CA - Power Converters, Transformer Canada

I bought a step down for all my Japanese 100 volt stuff. I plugged in a 4 spot power bar and run decoders, scope and cartridge decks from it and at 500 watts it doesn't even breathe heavy. Shipping a transformer is a little steep but not bad at all as they use a courier for better rates. They are in Quebec of I remember right.
 

Circular Vibes

1K Club - QQ Shooting Star
Since 2002/2003
Joined
Mar 12, 2003
Messages
1,842
Location
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
I suspected they came from the same factory, just different Letraset decals! At least I didn't have to deal with international shipping a big hunk of iron and copper. Ouch! I have seen the same website in other countries as well like Australia. It is easier to shop as local as possible for this kind of stuff.
 

Wurly1

Active Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2019
Messages
89
Location
Canada
Actually, tube amps will be more forgiving of an overload for a while, sometimes quite a while. A solid state amp will be damaged in short order with a substantial overload, putting two 4 ohm speakers in parallel, for example. Some solid state amps are designed to handle that but those are pretty rare. Almost all solid state amplifiers do not want to see less than 4 ohms impedance across the output transistors and that actually stresses the output devices in spite of what the manufacturer says.

Also, a solid state amplifier doesn't care if there is a load or not. If there is nothing connected across the outputs, there is no current flow and no heat.
True. Tubes are "protected" in a way by the transformer insulation, the secondary winding will most likely burn open if the load draw too much current for too long. Transistors are less forgiving indeed, their destruction is guaranteed if you exceed their ratings.
 

Wurly1

Active Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2019
Messages
89
Location
Canada
Wurly, have you seen the Simran units which are step-up, step-down? They are about 5" X 4" X 3". They come with different wattage ratings. I bought one that's 200 watts max to run some British model train power packs and it works fine.

Of course, those power packs don't draw anywhere near 200 watts but it doesn't even get warm with those.

Doug
I will look into it
 

Wurly1

Active Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2019
Messages
89
Location
Canada
I would look here, Transformers for what you need in canada if you go the route of installing inside the receiver.

If you go the outboard step down route, I have bought and been happy with these guys. Voltage Converters .CA - Power Converters, Transformer Canada

I bought a step down for all my Japanese 100 volt stuff. I plugged in a 4 spot power bar and run decoders, scope and cartridge decks from it and at 500 watts it doesn't even breathe heavy. Shipping a transformer is a little steep but not bad at all as they use a courier for better rates. They are in Quebec of I remember right.
Hammond transformers are very good stuff!
The other link shows very interesting products too and shipping from Montreal should be affordable.
Thanks!

Next week i will contact them if they can come up with a ready-made solution and also about custom built transformer.
 
Last edited:

takzarazide

New member
Joined
Mar 28, 2021
Messages
5
Location
Springfield
Good Day to all members. I recently purchased Technics SS-1200 stereo/quadraphonic system.

I have following problem: one of rear channels did not work.
I did remove turntable and checked fuses. Fuse on that rear channel was broken. After replacing that 2A fuse there is signal from channel but is very weak and there is noticeable "frying" noise but not smell or heat.
"Frying" sound is not coming from speaker, but can be heard from inside of receiver.
I assume that transistor is "dying".

I have following question is there possibility to remove circuit board of that broken channel only.

Those 4 amplifier boards look like they are some kind of cartridges inserted in the slots.
I do not want to drive whole receiver to technician, especially that after removing it from cabinet circuits are not protected.

I would appreciate any comments, advice on that question.
Regards,
Mario
 

Attachments

Doug G.

1K Club - QQ Shooting Star
Joined
Jul 8, 2007
Messages
1,928
Location
Austin, Minnesota
You would want to call the technician first but I can almost guarantee he's going to say he doesn't want to work on just one board out of the unit and not be able to verify the whole thing works after. He may say OK but then wouldn't warrant anything.

Doug
 

takzarazide

New member
Joined
Mar 28, 2021
Messages
5
Location
Springfield
You would want to call the technician first but I can almost guarantee he's going to say he doesn't want to work on just one board out of the unit and not be able to verify the whole thing works after. He may say OK but then wouldn't warrant anything.

Doug
Hi,
Thank You for advice. I did found one in neighbourhood that does old stuff. Will take whole unit to him next week.
 

DuncanS

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
QQ Supporter
Joined
Aug 30, 2012
Messages
5,771
Location
UK
Looks like it converts the old VHF analogue format TV audio signal to be listenable via the FM radio on a stereo system by tuning the stereo radio to 78MHz.
 

Owen Smith

400 Club - QQ All-Star
Joined
Apr 6, 2012
Messages
405
Location
UK
Presumably this is now useless? Being in the UK I don't know if there are any analogue VHF TV channels left in the US, but I suspect not.
 

takzarazide

New member
Joined
Mar 28, 2021
Messages
5
Location
Springfield
Hi Owen,
I do not know about United States America and their TV transmission.
I do live in OZ and do not watch TV since I moved in 2007.
That equipment is nice looking paper weight currently. I do not think that it was used at all.
But with current "craziness" in the world, we might get back to analog very soon, or even to cave paintings era.
 

MidiMagic

500 Club - QQ All-Star
Joined
Jul 5, 2010
Messages
564
The old analog TV channels are gone in the us. Everything went digital in 2007.
 
Top