Gone Crazy! Purple Rain - Atmos?

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I’m really hoping for The Gold Experience to get the SDE treatment 👍(especially if a live concert is on Blu-ray)

I dont know what it is about this album, but I recently sold a sealed original copy with no cut outs (found in a goodwill about 20 years ago) for $100

Has it really been 40 years for this Prince album! Hopefully, we’ll be treated with a Super Deluxe Edition with Dolby Atmos Blu-ray 🤞

Here’s to wishing for some Purple Rain in Atmos (at least as good as “Diamonds and Pearls”) for 2024 🍻

I remember very well my first experience with this album. I was a manager at a pro color lab & I needed to help a co-worker on with some photography of a difficult piece of flat art. A large oil painting that needed polarizing filters on the light source & camera to tone down the specular highlights.

I (mid 30's) go in the room and she (young 20's) has something playing pretty loud on her cassette boom box. I listened for a few seconds, I did not recognize it, so I asked her who it was. She pushed the stop button & with great disdain in her voice she said: " it's Prince. Purple Rain. It's probably too advanced for you".

Me, the audiophile music lover was mortally wounded. I never saw the movie in a theater but there was so much buzz about this I snapped it up on VHS. I've been hooked on Prince ever since.

Oh, and FWIW, Prince's previous album, 1999, is hands down the run away masterpiece for listening to in surround. The SM, QS, DPL II, it's just amazing. Give it a spin.

You can't post a thread with a title like that! You got me all excited! LOL!