King Crimson--List Your Top 5

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Clement

Stay Surrounded, Comrades!
QQ Supporter
@Daniel John 's recent thread, Yes - List Your Top 5 albums, strikes me as such a great idea and has elicited so many wonderful responses; I thought I would start a few more threads for bands that have a similar longevity and even more of their output available in multichannel magic. So here are my top 5 for King Crimson, in both order of preference and chronological order (click on album title to link to QQ poll threads):

1) In the Court of the Crimson King (1969): My first King Crimson purchase back in 1975 when I was a freshman in high school. It was the album cover that did it for me; I couldn’t resist. The owner of the local record store, clearly thinking I was hipper than I was, gave me a knowing nod when I paid with my hard-earned cash. I’ll never forget my first listen to the album--absolutely transcendent! I had NO idea such depth and breadth were possible. One of the all-time great opening salvos from a band. This masterpiece establishes the template for future exemplars: the juxtaposition of songs of virtuoso sonic assault and those of heartbreaking beauty, always straddling the lines, blurring the boundaries, and redefining the understanding of genres. A statement for the ages--one that changed the face of music and the way I listen to it, elevating popular culture to the realm of Art. Steve Wilson’s 50th anniversary mix was my top release of 2019.