Neil Young & Crazy Horse BD release to be 24/192

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DennisMabry

1K Club - QQ Shooting Star
QQ Supporter
For the past few years Neil has been releasing his material in hi-res in one format or another (albeit stereo only). Alas "Americana" the new release from Neil Young & Crazy Horse is no exception. The Blu-ray will feature 24/192 stereo.

http://neilyoung.com/preorder.html

I have looked on Amazon, there is no listing yet.

It's too bad Neil has not embraced surround as much as he has high resolution. For a while there he was doing CD + DVD with the audio in (2.0) 24/96 LPCM. Looks like Blu-ray is his present preference. I have "Le Noise" on BD (also 24/192) and it is a hauntingly wonderful recording. The DVD-A of "Harvest" while a strange 5.1 mix, still remains one of my favorites.

Dennis

while I respect him as an artist, I fear his rather bizarre patents for new technologies to obtain high-res recordings and his penchant for stereo-only blu-rays are a bit of a red-herring and won't help our quad/5.1 cause unless/until he decides to mix & issue more surround material.. :(

our best bet at the moment (and what i sadly think we should be thankful for given the state of the music industry and the state of the world economy right now!!) are the trickle of EMI prog 5.1 cd/dvd combos, the odd EMI mega box set (more likely around Xmas time), the potential for more from Sony (if and when their new ELP 5.1 Legacy Editions emerge and sell..!) and the faint glimmer that Universal may release some more sets along the lines of their Layla & Quadrophenia boxes (only complete next time unlike Pete Townshend's 8 track EP DVD-A.. Grr..!!) :mad: