Oppo FLAC file playback question.

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gvl_guy

1K Club - QQ Shooting Star
QQ Supporter
Greenville, SC (via NJ, Philly, ATL & SoFL)
So I have a new-to-me Oppo BDP-93. I'm still learning the ins and outs of the unit. (I've always been a quad LP guy.) Here's my dilemma:

When I download fies I can't seem to get the player to recognize the files. I use a Chromebook, download the files, unzip if needed, put them on a USB stick, insert it into player and.... nothing. The player WILL play some test MP3s I put on the stick. It sees the various folders, but they are empty.... it doesn't recognize the FLAC files. I've even gone into the menu and tried different settings; music and movie.

Not sure if this matters, but I have the Oppo plugged into my router with an Ethernet cable. But other than seeing if the player is up-to-date, which it is, I don't quite see the reason.

Any idea what I might be doing wrong?

**Special shout out to Sonik Wiz who has been helping through this and other issues, too.
IMG_20200821_152637.jpg
IMG_20200821_153208.jpg

So I have a new-to-me Oppo BDP-93. I'm still learning the ins and outs of the unit. (I've always been a quad LP guy.) Here's my dilemma:

When I download files, I can't seem to get the player to recognize the files. I use a Chromebook, download the files, unzip if needed, put them on a USB stick, insert it into player and.... nothing. The player WILL play some test MP3s I put on the stick. It sees the various folders, but they are empty.... it doesn't recognize the FLAC files. I've even gone into the menu and tried different settings; music and movie.

Not sure if this matters, but I have the Oppo plugged into my router with an Ethernet cable. But other than seeing if the player is up-to-date, which it is, I don't quite see the reason.

Any idea what I might be doing wrong?