How To: Upmix using Penteo and Reaper

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

M-K

Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2021
Messages
43
Location
Dark Side Of The Moon
Batch converting 2.0 to Penteo surround is of course a time saving process. I never did this. Usually a nuendo session is created by using a selfmade template. Most - but not all - tracks / CDs can be optimized. And I'm always messing around with the LFE.
Especially Kate Bush - The Kick Inside (I've an old CD release used for this, no remaster) sounds so much better and very discrete after manual work. This was important to me because of her fantastic voice. And it wasn't easy to get a result that pleased me.
I would like to encourage you to play a bit around with your audio tools.
 

Mark Anderson

Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Mar 16, 2004
Messages
1,213
Location
aRMANIA
I received this response in regards to the new version of Penteo and the batch processing problem in Reaper
‐---------------------
Sorry for the delay in getting back to you.



We have found the issue releated batch processing on Reaper and have coded the fix already and should have it tested and out in a week or so. I don’t have the details yet but just saw the status change so wanted to let you know!
 

HomerJAU

Moderator: MCH Media Players
Staff member
Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Jun 13, 2013
Messages
4,116
Location
Melbourne, Australia
New Reaper version fixes the issue with latest Penteo v2.24.

Now setting Reaper's Output Channels allows any Penteo Output up to and including the Reaper Output Channel count.

To do a valid 4.1 mix you still need to select 5.1 in Penteo and turn the Centre to 'Off'
 

J. PUPSTER

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
QQ Supporter
Joined
May 30, 2017
Messages
8,251
Location
CALIFORNIA (CENTRAL)
Got this in my email today; sale on til 7/31. *note, will also need an iLOK USB!

Dolby Atmos 2.1.2, 3.1.2, 4.1.2, 4.1.4 Formats Added

Ambisonics decoding / downmixing to any Penteo supported format

SAVE 30% off Penteo 16 Pro - Only $349 until July 31, 2021​
 

HomerJAU

Moderator: MCH Media Players
Staff member
Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Jun 13, 2013
Messages
4,116
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Looks like I’m not eligible for the free upgrade. I don’t get an update notification when running Penteo 16 and I didn’t receive an update email, just an email saying I can buy Penteo 16 3.0 at 30% off.
 

HomerJAU

Moderator: MCH Media Players
Staff member
Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Jun 13, 2013
Messages
4,116
Location
Melbourne, Australia
My license is Penteo 16 Pro (I just typed Penteo 16 as an abbreviation). I bought mine in Nov 2019 soon after Penteo Pro 16 was released.

EDIT: Ok, I can download the 3.0 version from the email I received this morning. Not sure why I didn't receive an update notification from when running Penteo though.

All good now. Thanks to Glenn for pointing out the email's update link (I missed it)
 
Last edited:

Mark Anderson

Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Mar 16, 2004
Messages
1,213
Location
aRMANIA
I downloaded the new version and the settings tab to change channel assignments is so small you can hardly read it. I will test out the batch processing this weekend
 

Mark Anderson

Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Mar 16, 2004
Messages
1,213
Location
aRMANIA
When I use the 4.1 setting outside of batch processing on the new version 3.0 , I do not get any sound of the right rear. Still need to use the 5.1 setting with the center channel turned off
 

HomerJAU

Moderator: MCH Media Players
Staff member
Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Jun 13, 2013
Messages
4,116
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Penteo Quad channel order and output is not what we expect.

You need to use 5.1 and turn the centre off or use MMH to correct the channel order if using Penteo's 4 channel output setting.
 

J. PUPSTER

2K Club - QQ Super Nova
QQ Supporter
Joined
May 30, 2017
Messages
8,251
Location
CALIFORNIA (CENTRAL)
When I use the 4.1 setting outside of batch processing on the new version 3.0 , I do not get any sound of the right rear. Still need to use the 5.1 setting with the center channel turned off
Make sure you always check off your Input/Output settings in the little Setting's gear; if I close the program it always resets to to the wrong order.
*-edit, of course I'm using an older version still, and may have been corrected in later releases.
 

Mark Anderson

Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Mar 16, 2004
Messages
1,213
Location
aRMANIA
I checked the settings after loading the new version and they were exactly as I had set them in the earlier version. Like I mentioned before the settings box size has changed and is so small I had to get close to the 55" TV to read it
 

HomerJAU

Moderator: MCH Media Players
Staff member
Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Jun 13, 2013
Messages
4,116
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Make sure you always check off your Input/Output settings in the little Setting's gear; if I close the program it always resets to to the wrong order.
*-edit, of course I'm using an older version still, and may have been corrected in later releases.
You need to save your settings as the new default Pup.
 

Mark Anderson

Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Mar 16, 2004
Messages
1,213
Location
aRMANIA
Here is another response I received from ADL in reference to Penteo V224
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
As promised, batch processing for Reaper has been fixed in v3.0.0 which is out today on our installer page for you to try. Please let me know if it doesn’t do what it should for you.

I’ve been reading your posts on QQ and hope you clarify for your thread that yes the batch processing was broken in our last release but that was due to changes in Reaper that we were not aware of via their doc. Once notified, we fixed in weeks.

Regarding the channel issue that the thread blames Penteo for, that was a Reaper issue, there was no fix on our side and it seems to be working for you now as a result of their last update? Please confirm.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I looked back at my email I sent ADL and I had commented on channel assignments

  1. When I select a 4.0 layout I only get Left front, center, Right front
  2. When I select 4.1 the right rear speaker has no sound. The meter shows sound but nothing can be heard. If i switch to 5.1 and I get sound out of all the correct channels
I guess the issue they are referring too in the last sentence is not a Penteo issue but I have not checked on this since I installed the latest version. I'll try and do that maybe this weekend.

Overall I am very pleased with the customer support from ADL in regards to Penteo
 
Top